More info about shipping


More info about rates & qualities

Lento Religioso

Amsterdam Sinfonietta, Candida Thompson

Berg, Korngold, Bruckner, Bridge, Lekeu, Wagner, Strauss

SKU: 36620

Year of release: 2020

1 12:33
1. Berg - Sonata, Opus 1, Arr. Wijnand van Klaveren Berg 12:33
2 11:18
2. Korngold - Lento Religioso from Symphonic Serenade, Opus 39 Korngold 11:18
3 14:04
3. Bruckner - Adagio from String Quintet WAB 112 Bruckner 14:04
4 06:26
4. Bridge - Lament for String Orchestra H117 Adagio, con molto espessione - Poco piu adagio Bridge 06:26
5 10:28
5. Lekeu - Adagio pour quatuor d'orchestre Lekeu 10:28
6 10:00
6. Wagner - Prelude from Tristan und Isolde, Arr. Adrian Williams - Langsam und schmachtend Wagner 10:00
7 12:10
7. Strauss - Prelude from Capriccio, Opus 85 - Andante con moto Strauss 12:10
Total time: 77:02

About this album

The Serenades by Dvořák and Tchaikovsky, Schönberg’s Verklärte Nacht and the Bridge Variations by Britten: all these masterpieces from the corpus of music for string orchestra belong to the very nucleus of our repertoire. But in recent decades we have further enriched our genre by initiating commissions, presenting numerous premieres and having music specially arranged for us. And occasionally we have also discovered gems that are never played.

On this album ‘Lento Religioso’ we bring together several romantic works, each with a very specific expressive power of its own. Some are genuine pieces for string ensemble, others are adaptations created for us. Some arrangements are simple: you play the four parts of a string quartet with all the strings of a string orchestra and have a nice bass part written, and a ‘new work’ is born. But it can also be a complicated process. In ‘translating’ a work written for piano or symphony orchestra, the arranger must make complex artistic and technical decisions. In any adaptation lies a danger, but also a potential; will the listener be disappointed in comparing it to his previous knowledge of the piece, or pleasantly surprised by new aspects presented by the arrangement? This tender, melancholy and languishing album is intended for the inquisitive listener.

– Candida Thompson, Amsterdam Sinfonietta
artistic director, lead violinist

Download booklet


Amsterdam Sinfonietta

Candida Thompson

Technical Specifications

SpeakersGrimm LS1
Mastering EngineerJared Sacks
EditingJared Sacks - Pyramix Workstation / Merging Technologies
CablesVan den Hul
MicrophonesBruel & Kjaer 4006, Schoeps
Recording FormatDSD 64 (2014, 2016) and DSD 256 (2020)
Analog To Digital ConverterDSD 64fs AD1 / Grimm Audio (2014, 2016) DSD 256fs Horus / Merging Technologies (2020)
Recording LocationStadsgehoorzaal, Leiden (2014) Bethlehemkerk Studio 150, Amsterdam (2016, 2020)
Recording EngineerJared Sacks
ProductionWillem de Bordes