More info about rates & qualities

Szymanowksi: Complete Songs for Voice and Piano (Volume 3)

Reinild Mees, Urszula Kryger


SKU: 19398-3

Year of release: 2004

Sześć pieśni – Six Songs (Miciński), Op. 20 13:18
1. Na księżycu czarnym (On the black moon) Szymanowski 01:52
2. Święty Franciszek mówi (Saint Francis says) Szymanowski 01:53
3. Pachnń mi dziwnie twoje złote włosy (I can sense the exquisite fragrance of your golden hair) Szymanowski 03:10
4. W mym sercu (In my heart) Szymanowski 02:07
5. Z maurytanskich śpiewnych sal (From Moorish singing halls) Szymanowski 01:37
6. Na pustej trzcinie (On a hollow reed) Szymanowski 02:36
Des Hafis Liebeslieder – Love Songs of Hafis (Bethge), Op. 24 12:04
7. Wünsche (Wishes) Szymanowski 01:25
8. Die einzige Arzenei (The only medicine) Szymanowski 01:44
9. Die brennenden Tulpen (The burning tulips) Szymanowski 02:32
10. Tanz (Dance) Szymanowski 02:06
11. Der verliebte Ostwind (The lovesick East wind) Szymanowski 02:02
12. Trauriger Frühling (Sad spring) Szymanowski 02:12
Das Grab des Hafis – The grave of Hafis (Bethge) Op. posth. 05:23
13. Das Grab des Hafis – The grave of Hafis (Bethge) Op. posth. Szymanowski 05:23
Vier Gesänge – Four Songs (Tagore), Op. 41 10:59
14. Mein Herz (My heart) Szymanowski 02:33
15. Der junge Prinz 1 (The young prince 1) Szymanowski 03:05
16. Der junge Prinz 2 (The young prince 2) Szymanowski 03:00
17. Das letzte Lied (The last song) Szymanowski 02:19
Zwölf Lieder – Twelve Songs (Dehmel, Mombert, Falke, Greif), Op. 17 25:46
18. Hoch in der Frühe (Up high at an early hour) Szymanowski 02:03
19. Geheimnis (A secret) Szymanowski 01:45
20. Werbung (Courtship) Szymanowski 01:41
21. Manche Nacht (Some night) Szymanowski 02:42
22. Aufblick (Revelation) Szymanowski 03:35
23. Verkündigung (The annunciation) Szymanowski 01:57
24. Nach einem Regen (After the rain) Szymanowski 01:27
25. Entführung (Abduction) Szymanowski 02:06
26. Schlummerlied (Slumber song) Szymanowski 01:48
27. Seele (Soul) Szymanowski 01:47
28. Fragment (Fragment) aus / from Der Glühende Szymanowski 01:39
29. Liebesnacht (Night of love) Szymanowski 03:11
Total time: 67:31

About this album

The physical product (4-CD box set) of this 2004 release has been out of stock for quite some time. We now offer the 4 discs for the first time digitally, as 4 separate albums. These download editions were released in June 2020. 

Each album features a different singer. Volume 1: Piotr Beczala (tenor), Volume 2: Juliana Gondek (soprano), Volume 3: Urszula Kryger (mezzosoprano), Volume 4: Iwona Sobotka (soprano). Pianist Reinild Mees accompanies each of the singers on all 4 albums.

You are now on the album page of Volume 3 of the Complete Songs for Voice and Piano by Szymanowski.

URSZULA KRYGER, mezzosoprano

KAROL SZYMANOWSKI’S SONGS IN LITERARY AND MUSICAL CONTEXT Romantic and German Influences Changes in Szymanowski’s style and aesthetic attitude are distinctly reflected in his rich legacy of beautifully crafted vocal works, embracing songs with piano or orchestral accompaniment, and written as single compositions or cycles. Starting within the tradition of the Romantic Lied, Szymanowski went on to shape his individual idiom with songs inspired by the exoticism of the Orient in his middle period, and – towards the end of his life – performed a spectacular about-turn leading to a stylization of authentic folklore. Impulses stimulating his creative imagination came from various sources, as Szymanowski continued to work under the influence of general philosophical ideas and particular literary works. Poetry frequently became the means of communication that supplemented his musical expression, with poetical texts forming the basis of musical works and revealing aesthetic tastes of the composer, his system of values and his artistic motivations. An examination of the poetic motifs of the songs thus discloses numerous filiations between the musical style and cultural backdrop of the period in which Szymanowski’s creative personality took shape. (…)

— Zofia Helman, University of Warsaw, Poland (excerpt from booklet liner notes)
[Reprinted from The Songs of Karol Szymanowski and His Contemporaries (Los Angeles: Polish Music Center, 2002)]

Download booklet

Technical Specifications

Mastering EngineerC. Jared Sacks
EditingC. Jared Sacks
Recording Date1998
Recording LocationMuziekgebouw Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Recording EngineerC. Jared Sacks
ProductionC. Jared Sacks, Reinild Mees