More info about shipping


More info about rates & qualities

Graettinger - Live At The Paradiso

Ebony Band

Robert F. Graettinger

SKU: 13198

Year of release: 1998

1. Molshoaro Robert F. Graettinger 03:06
2. Beachcomber Robert F. Graettinger 03:15
3. Afternoon Robert F. Graettinger 02:33
4. Loverman Robert F. Graettinger 04:36
5. I only have eyes for you Robert F. Graettinger 03:04
6. Too marvellous for words Robert F. Graettinger 02:30
7. Irresistable you Robert F. Graettinger 04:37
8. Condolence Robert F. Graettinger 03:15
9. Untitlted Original (Unfinished) Robert F. Graettinger 02:10
Suite For String Trio And Wind Quartet 17:26
10. Part One Robert F. Graettinger 05:17
11. Part Two Robert F. Graettinger 05:09
12. Part Three Robert F. Graettinger 06:59
13. Transparency Robert F. Graettinger 03:49
14. Untitled Original (Two In One) Robert F. Graettinger 02:27
15. Autumn in New York Robert F. Graettinger 02:40
16. Fine & Dandy Robert F. Graettinger 03:56
17. I'm in the mood for love Robert F. Graettinger 03:13
18. Everything happens to me Robert F. Graettinger 03:41
19. Untitled Original (For Frank) Robert F. Graettinger 02:43
20. Untitled Original (For Conte) Robert F. Graettinger 03:33
21. Untitled Original (In Three Tempi) Robert F. Graettinger 04:06
Total time: 76:50

About this album

Robert Frederick Graettinger (1923 – 1957) composer/arranger Until shortly Robert Graettinger was known only to a small circle of jazz enthusiasts. His composition, ‘City of Glass’, recorded on the initiative of Stan Kenton in 1951, evoked disconcerted responses from ‘chaos’ to ‘this isn’t jazz’ to ‘Wagnerian pretentiousness’. Graettinger began his career as an alto saxophonist with several lesserknown bands in California, but he soon put his sax away because, as he said to one of his friends, “I have more to say than I can express with just one instrument”. He studied composition for a brief period at the Westlake School of Music in Los Angeles. At the age of eighteen, he showed one of his compositions to Stan Kenton, who encouraged him to continue. In 1947, Kenton added Graettinger’s ‘Thermopylae’ to the band’s repertoire. From that time onward, Graettinger, with Pete Rugolo and Bill Russo, was one of the staff arrangers for Kenton’s orchestra, which had a reputation for being ‘progressive’. Stan Kenton’s name may have lost most of its luster among today’s jazz aficionados; nevertheless, one of the most important achievements of his career is that he gave the youthful Robert Graettinger a chance to compose pieces, to make arrangements of standards, and to be part of the process when Kenton made recordings of avant-garde pieces with his orchestra. Pete Rugolo and Bill Russo composed big band pieces in the jazz tradition; Graettinger, in contrast, tried to incorporate developments from modern classical music into the big band idiom.

Download booklet



(...) Uitvoeringsniveau ligt hoog. De grote verrassing is de sopraan Claron McFadden die zich met omfloerste stem en scherpe timing ontpopt tot een zwoele jazzzangeres van kaliber.

Technical Specifications

Digital To Analog ConverterSony
Mastering EquimentSadie Audio system
Mastering EngineerJared Sacks
Mixing ConsoleRens Heijnis Custom made
MicrophonesBruel & Kjaer, Schoeps
Recording NotesParadiso live June 1996 Frascati Theater live December 1996
Recording FormatPCM 44.1
Analog To Digital ConverterdCS900
Recording DateJune 1996
Recording LocationParadiso,Amsterdam, The Netherlands
EditingJared Sacks
Recording Engineerjared Sacks
ProducerJared Sacks, Werner Herbers