The Arnhem Philharmonic Orchestra

Based in Arnhem, the Arnhem Philharmonic Orchestra gives some hundred symphony concerts each season in the province of Gelderland, in Amsterdam, Rotterdam and Utrecht, and abroad, this last including tours to Spain, Austria, Germany and Hungary. In 2007 the orchestra toured Japan for the first time and returned there in spring 2009. Martin Seighart was chief conductor and artistic adviser of the orchestra from the 2003–2004 season until January 2009. Kenichiro Kobayashi was appointed permanent conductor from the 2006–2007 season, and Nikolai Alexeev permanent guest conductor in 2002. Former chief conductors include Lawrence Renes, Roberto Benzi and Yoav Talmi. Other conductors who have regularly made guest appearances with the orchestra in the past include Bernard Klee, Hans Vonk, Jaap van Zweden and Roy Goodman. Soloists such as Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Leif Ove Andsnes, Zoltán Kocsis, Nicolai Znaider and Akiko Suwanai are also among those who have performed with the orchestra. Recordings by the Arnhem Philharmonic Orchestra include the symphonies of Schubert, Tchaikovsky, Brahms and Berlioz, with an enthusiastic reception by the press in both Japan and The Netherlands for recordings of Mahler’s Sixth Symphony and Das Lied von der Erde.